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In the event of an emergency, contact a state forest 
employee or dial 911. 

If you become lost: stop, stay calm, stay put, & dial 911. 
The further you walk the longer it will take to find you. 
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Mountain Stone Permittee: 
  Mountain stone collection on state forest land is a    
privilege offered to all responsible citizens, 18 years of 
age or older, who are willing to adhere to the regulations   
necessary to protect our environment. 
  Experience has taught us that these few rules are   
necessary. By promptly reporting violators, you can help 
insure that our mountain stone program will be continued 
from year to year. 
  Please read the regulations carefully. Should you have 
any questions, contact our office by calling   
(814) 643-2340, email us at FD05@pa.gov, or writing to: 
Bureau of Forestry, 181 Rothrock Lane, Huntingdon, PA 
16652. In case of an emergency or to report a violation 
after normal working hours contact the Huntingdon 
County Control Center (814-643-3960), the Centre 
County Control Center (1-800-479-0050), or the Mifflin 
County Control Center (717-248-9607) and ask the   
person on duty to contact one of our forest officers who 
will return your call as soon as possible. 
  May your mountain stone collecting and your time 
spent on Rothrock State Forest be an enjoyable  
experience. 

Check out Rothrock State 
Forest on Facebook! 

A note to the Permittee Stone Sales on State 
Forest Land 

• Hand collection of stone is the only method
of collection permitted on state forest land.

• Stone collected under this permit is
intended for personal use only. The re-sale
of any stone is strictly prohibited and
punishable by law.

• Loose stone is sold at $5.00 per ton plus
applicable sales tax, Pennsylvania sales tax
is 6%.

• Permits issued are required to be for a
minimum of 2 tons, and a maximum of 10
tons. 

• The maximum allowable cumulative
tonnage of all permits issued to any one
person in a given calendar year is 10 tons.

• Term of the permit shall not exceed 30
days, regardless of tonnage purchased.

• The specific location for collection must be
established before permit is issued and
properly noted on the permit. No more than
2 locations are permitted on any one permit.

Stop in the office for a permit, or detach and mail the 
application and payment to the district office. 

Do NOT mail your application sooner than 7 
days prior to anticipated collection date 

IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT 
YOU SCOUT A SPECIFIC 
LOCATION FOR STONE 

BEFORE APPLYING FOR A 
PERMIT 

Pennsylvania Bureau of   
Forestry 

Rothrock State Forest

Mountain 
Stone Sales For More Information 



• Collection of any foundation stone to include old cabin, home, and barn foundations is prohibited.

• Collection of any river rock, stream cobble, bank stone, or other rock material from a stream,
stream channel, stream bed, stream bank, or other stream feature is prohibited.

• Collection of rock within the riparian buffer of 100 feet from the stream bank edge is prohibited.

• Collection of stone from areas that contain rattlesnake dens, rattlesnake basking areas, woodrat
habitat,  wetlands, or any other ecologically sensitive area is prohibited.

• Collection of bridge abutment stone, culvert headwall and tailwall stone, deer fence base stone, or
road or stockpiled stone is prohibited.

• NO mountain stone collection is permitted in Natural Areas, Wild Areas, or any area posted
against stone collection.

• Mountain stone collection is prohibited along Route 322, 26, and 305. It is also prohibited along
Charter Oak Road and Barree Road, and Grissinger Camp Lane.

• The following roads are CLOSED for removal of mountain stone:
Bear Meadows Road 
Bear Gap Road 
Diamond Valley Road 
Trough Creek Drive 

• Vehicles are not permitted off of maintained forest 
roads.

• If you see someone violating rules, please report it to
a forestry employee.

• Forest Officers will be patrolling. Violations of any 
state forest rule or regulation may result in a fine of 
up to $300 and suspension of permit.

• A permit is valid for collection of loose stone ONLY.

• Loose stone is stone that rests on, and is taken from, 
a surface or slope on state forest land, that does not 
lie in a mechanically excavated pit and is collectable 
by hand.

• A valid permit plus proper identification must be carried at all times when picking stone.
Permittee must be present during stone picking.

Stone Sales on State Forest Land 

MOUNTAIN STONE GATHERING APPLICATION 

Complete ALL information requested.  
Mail completed application and check or 
money order made payable to  

“Commonwealth of PA” to: 
 Bureau of Forestry  
 181 Rothrock Lane  
 Huntingdon, PA 16652 

Once completed application and payment are 
received, it is reviewed. If everything is in 
order, your permit will be mailed or emailed 
to you within 1-2 business days after 
receipt.  

Name of Person gathering mountain stone:  
____________________________________  
Address:  
____________________________________  
____________________________________ 
Email:_______________________________  
Daytime phone number:(___)_____________  
Permit Holder Driver’s Lic# & Date of Birth:  
___________________________________  
Make/Model/Yr/Color of Vehicle 
____________________________________ 
Plate # ______________________________ 
Name 1 or 2 roads where mountain stone will 
be gathered:  
____________________________________ 
____________________________________ 
Date you want permit to begin: ___________ 
(otherwise, permit will start 3 days after mail 
date from district office)  

Amount of tons requested:____________ 
2 ton minimum required 

Amount of payment enclosed: ___________  
1 ton = $5.30 (with PA sales tax included) 

There will be a $50 service fee charged for checks   
returned due to insufficient funds, account  

closures, or stop payments. 

Cost Chart for Stone Collection 

TONS Cost Tax PRICE 

2  $    10.00   $   0.60  $    10.60 

3  $    15.00   $   0.90  $    15.90 

4  $    20.00   $   1.20  $    21.20 

5  $    25.00   $   1.50  $    26.50 

6  $    30.00   $   1.80  $    31.80 

7  $    35.00   $   2.10  $    37.10 

8  $    40.00   $   2.40  $    42.40 

9  $    45.00   $   2.70  $    47.70 

10  $    50.00   $   3.00  $    53.00 




